Cronut, er, Crullant?

Coming from the land of “You know what would make that better? Fry it.” as soon as I heard about the Cronut I knew I had to have it. Since I don’t have a trip to New York planned any time soon I waited patiently for Los Angeles to release it’s own version and I mustered the time/energy to get myself downtown to try it.

Semi Sweet Bakery located in downtown Los Angeles

Semi Sweet Bakery located in downtown Los Angeles

I heard Frances Bakery & Coffee and Semi Sweet Bakery were the best places to go, and since Frances isn’t open on the weekends the boy and I decided we’d try Semi Sweet. While they only have a plain option, any Cronut is better than no Cronut.

Maple Bacon Sticky and Crullant at Semi Sweet

Maple Bacon Sticky and Crullant at Semi Sweet

Since carbs are my favorite food group we also got the Maple Bacon Sticky, and while the “Crullant” (as they call it) was good, the Maple Bacon Sticky was amazing!

My first bite of a Crullant!

My first bite of a Crullant!

After a pit stop at FIDM to see the annual television costume exhibit, I took the boy on a long overdue trip to Wurstküche, an exotic grilled sausage restaurant downtown I frequented while I was in college.

Wurstküche in downtown Los Angeles.

Wurstküche in downtown Los Angeles

As I expected, he loved it. He had two, the Crocodile & Pork and Rattlesnake & Rabbit with Jalapeño Peppers, while I opted for the less exotic, but equally delicious, Lamb with Mediterranean Spices. We also got fries because I’ve never met a French fry I didn’t like.

Crocodile, Lamb, Snake & Rabbit sausages and French fries

Crocodile, Lamb, Snake & Rabbit sausages and French fries

A successful day downtown, finally getting some things marked off the to-do list!

4 thoughts on “Cronut, er, Crullant?

  1. Pingback: Cheeseburger in Paradise | Honey for Bear

  2. Pingback: LA’s Sweet Side | Honey for Bear

  3. Pingback: Meals on Meals | Honey for Bear

  4. Pingback: Cronuts Take Asia in Every Form Imaginable | The Cronuts

Share Your Thoughts

