How to Hate Moving Less

Next week I will be making the move from Hollywood to Beverly Hills. While I’m thrilled at the prospect of a new neighborhood to explore, new apartment to decorate, and starting a new adventure with the boy (yes, he’s my new roomie!) I hate moving. I moved more often than most growing up and each time was more exhausting than the last. This distaste was largely due to the fact that all of our moves were during summer in the south. Being in a home without air conditioning even for a day is far too long in southern humidity.

A historic home in Huntsville, AL my mother transformed

A historic home in Huntsville, AL my mother transformed

That being said, each time we moved I was able to observe my mother renovating and decorating. Her background as an interior designer and extensive personal experience transforming homes still astounds me. Each time we moved I kicked and screamed that this new place was terrible and would never feel like home. Yet inevitably once we prepared to leave that house I would have the same tantrum. Granted, apartment living has certain limitations that owning a home does not, but with her guidance I’m confident I can make my beautiful new apartment feel like home!

Boxes from Rent a Green Box

Boxes from Rent a Green Box

Here are just a few moving tips I’ve compiled to make the process a little less painful. First, I found this great company that provides eco-friendly moving boxes. They deliver and pick them up, which is so much easier than dealing with cardboard boxes!

Labeling is key to a slightly less stressful move

Labeling is key to a slightly less stressful move

Label, label, label!! Even though I’m obsessive about labeling boxes I still manage to find myself scavenging for that one item I just can’t locate once I’ve arrived at my new place. Label boxes with not only the contents and any warnings (i.e. fragile, liquids, candles etc.) but also the order you would like to unpack. For example, pack something you won’t need for a while and label it #1, then continue packing saving the things you will need first for the last boxes. When you unpack do so in reverse numerical order, and if you really want to be organized you can create an inventory list of what is in each box!

My new blank canvas to transform

My new blank canvas to transform

As I’ve said, a lot of my furniture is very disposable so I’m trying to figure out what’s worth taking and what’s ready for Craigslist. I found this handy tool from Better Homes and Gardens that can help you determine the layout of a room by using your room and furniture dimensions. It’s a little nerdy how excited I got about this!

Keep your cleaning supplies on hand during your move!

Keep your cleaning supplies on hand during your move!

Last but certainly not least, be courteous. Always pack cleaning supplies last so that you can give your old home one final cleaning and can move into your new home with it feeling clean and fresh. Also if you’re hiring movers have some bottled water on hand and if it’s an all-day move maybe even some Gatorades and snacks. It can never hurt to schmooze the people handling all your belongings!

10 thoughts on “How to Hate Moving Less

  1. Pingback: The Southern Fortune Cookie | Honey for Bear

  2. Pingback: To Do List: Part 4 | Honey for Bear

  3. Pingback: Southern Shopping | Honey for Bear

  4. Pingback: Cheap Apartment Chic | Honey for Bear

  5. Pingback: How to Spell Hors d’Oeuvres | Honey for Bear

  6. Pingback: Old Faithful: The Rose Bowl Flea Market | Honey for Bear

  7. Pingback: My Favorite Melrose Place | Honey for Bear

  8. Pingback: To Do List: Part 2 | Honey for Bear

  9. Pingback: Monogramming Madness | Honey for Bear

  10. Pingback: Happiness: Part 2 | Honey for Bear

Share Your Thoughts

