Great Mother of Guac

Confession: I didn’t eat my first avocado until I was 19. Not only is my aversion to produce (especially green foods) to blame, but also I didn’t often cross paths with them growing up in Alabama. At our Mexican restaurants chips are generally accompanied by queso, not guacamole.

White queso dip, yum!

White queso dip, yum!

Now, after a few years in California, I’m an avocado addict. Chips and guac (and maybe a margarita?) is an easy light dinner or afternoon snack, especially during football season. I’ve slowly mastered picking the right avocado and determining when it is ripe. Now I’m constantly finding new ways to add them to my meals. That being said, you can’t beat a great bowl of guacamole.

Basic guacamole ingredients

Basic guacamole ingredients

In a pinch, I’m happy to buy pre-made guac but I prefer to make my own when I’ve got ripe avocados on hand. I don’t exactly know where I came across this recipe, but it’s pretty traditional and you can adjust the ingredients easily to suit your taste.

Ingredients:

3 avocados

1 plum tomato

½ cup diced onion

1 lime

1 teaspoon salt

3 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro

1 teaspoon minced garlic

1 pinch ground cayenne pepper

Fresh guacamole!

Fresh guacamole!

Directions:

Cut, pit and mash avocados. Add diced tomato and onion. Squeeze in the juice of one lime. Mix in salt, chopped cilantro, minced garlic and cayenne pepper.

4 thoughts on “Great Mother of Guac

  1. Pingback: To Do List: Part 8 | Honey for Bear

  2. Pingback: Independent Burrito | Honey for Bear

  3. Pingback: Spicy & Sweet Potato Fries | Honey for Bear

Share Your Thoughts

