Makeup Overhaul

In my pursuit of living the best possible life I can lead, I’m de-cluttering another neglected area: my accumulation of makeup. I don’t wear makeup often and when I do I don’t wear a lot, but I’ve still managed to find myself with over a dozen eyeliner pencils and more tubes of lipstick than I could use in a lifetime. It’s probably time I reevaluate what’s expired (yes, makeup expires!) and what can do more harm than good.

I love colors, so naturally I hoard colorful makeup!

I love colors, so naturally I hoard colorful makeup!

First of all let’s address what’s expired. Makeup can last anywhere from several months to about two years. But, your biggest enemy in the lifespan of your makeup is also your best friend: makeup brushes. Something like mascara or liquid eyeliner has the shortest lifespan because you can’t clean the application tool. Throw them out after three to six months. Eye shadow and blush can last up to two years, assuming you’re diligent about cleaning your tools.

Mascara is my everyday makeup must

Mascara is my everyday makeup must

I’ll be the first to admit that I don’t clean my makeup brushes as often as I should. I cut myself way too much slack since I use them so seldom, but cleaning them really doesn’t take that much effort and the payoff is well worth it. There are plenty of products you can purchase but any gentle soap or shampoo can do the job just fine.

The best way to take care of your face, is to take care of your makeup tools

The best way to take care of your face, is to take care of your makeup tools

Again, I don’t think too much about what goes into my makeup because my everyday face is just a few basic products, generally Cetaphil and some Almay items. But, you may be surprised to find that what you’re using to enhance your outside could be harming your insides. I’m addicted to reading articles online and whenever I read about the dangers lurking in your makeup I tell myself I’m going to purge my cabinets, and never do. I typically avoid products with fragrance because I have sensitive skin, but I need to be more diligent about avoiding things with other harmful ingredients (aluminum, toluene, and lead just to name a few.)

2 thoughts on “Makeup Overhaul

  1. Pingback: To Do List: Part 5 | Honey for Bear

  2. Pingback: To Do List: Part 2 | Honey for Bear

Share Your Thoughts

