My Birchbox Addiction Begins

I am a new product junkie. Whether it be home goods, personal care, or new junk food, I want to try it all. But since I’m de-hoarding (it is alarming how many bottles of lotion have sat in my bathroom for years) and trying to save money, I’ve been reduced to trolling the Internet for free samples. Ultimately, it makes it a little more rewarding once I track down a new product to try. But I’ve also decided to treat myself by signing up for Birchbox and my first box just arrived! Yes, I’m paying for these samples but it is still thrilling to get the box each month and go through the surprises inside.

My first Birchbox products

My first Birchbox products

First off I am constantly applying lip balm. I have them strategically located throughout the apartment and always have one in my purse. In high school I converted from ChapStick to Burt’s Bees after hearing that ChapStick was designed to make your lips addicted so you keep applying more. I don’t know if that’s actually true, but I’ve been a Burt’s girl ever since. ChapStick hydration lock (in vanilla crème) might make me convert back. To test the eight-hour moisture claim I applied it when I went to bed at 10:30. Typically I apply at night and wake up with the worst chapped lips. But with this I actually overslept and after ten hours my lips were still in really good shape. I love the way it feels when it goes on and the vanilla fragrance/taste isn’t overwhelming.

Liz Earle Cleanse & Polish Hot Cloth Cleanser with Pure Muslin Cloth

Liz Earle Cleanse & Polish Hot Cloth Cleanser with Pure Muslin Cloth

This morning I tried out Liz Earle’s Cleanse & Polish Hot Cloth Cleanser. I’ve been blessed with really good skin; I seldom get breakouts and my only issue is dry skin. When I remember to, I use an exfoliating cleanser and other than applying Cetaphil daily, that’s about all the attention my skin gets. While using Cleanse & Polish I was skeptical that it was working. My face wasn’t tingling as it does with some cleansers and the product doesn’t feel rough like an exfoliator, it almost feels like lotion. But I will say my face did feel especially soft after using it, though I didn’t see any difference.

POP Beauty's Aqua Laquer

POP Beauty’s Aqua Laquer

I’m not big on lip-gloss and I wasn’t particularly wowed by POP Beauty’s Aqua Lacquer. There was no noticeable plumping effect, although I did get the tingling feeling in my lips I’ve experienced from other lip plumping products. Even though it is sticky there was no notable hydration benefit. Additionally, the applicator is a flat plastic paddle which caught me off guard and didn’t provide any advantage over other applicator brushes. Overall I’m thrilled with my decision to subscribe and I’m super stoked to try the last sample, Klorane’s Shampoo with Desert Date.

6 thoughts on “My Birchbox Addiction Begins

  1. Pingback: Soul Sista | Honey for Bear

  2. Pingback: Girls Love Curls | Honey for Bear

  3. Pingback: Happiness: Part 5 | Honey for Bear

  4. Pingback: Dad’s Are the WORST… | Honey for Bear

  5. Pingback: White Lines | Honey for Bear

  6. Pingback: Me vs. Santa Anas (Spoiler: I Win) | Honey for Bear

Share Your Thoughts

