Furniture Without Complication

I’m feeling very accomplished for the first time in a while. Last weekend I repaired the coffee table disappointment. To cover all my bases I went back to Lowe’s and had them shake up the paint for me so it was freshly mixed. It helped a little but I think the biggest factor was using a roller on the tabletop, rather than a paintbrush. I was surprised it had such a big effect on the look of the table, but as you can see it made a world of difference. Once I applied a coat of finishing wax it was finally complete!

And now the coffee table is finished

And now the coffee table is finished

This weekend I tackled another furniture makeover, my hall tree. It was only $150 at my favorite thrift store, but definitely in need of some TLC. While I would have loved to keep it in its original wood finish, it was too damaged.

A few small obstacles to overcome

A few obstacles to overcome: damaged corner, broken arm, missing button

The right corner had been a pet’s chew toy, one piece of wood was cracked, and a button covering a screw from the drawer was missing. I patched the corner with wood filler, used some wood glue on the crack, and bought wooden buttons at Michaels. The beautiful details made all the repairs well worth it.

A very functional piece with great old school details

A very functional piece with great old school details

To prep we only did a little light sanding. I used the same paint from my kitchen table and did about two or three coats. Again, I used finishing wax and for once had a problem free furniture makeover experience!

My first glitch free furniture project

My first glitch free furniture project

4 thoughts on “Furniture Without Complication

  1. Pingback: Cheap Apartment Chic | Honey for Bear

Share Your Thoughts

