80 Degrees of Christmas

Happy holidays! Even though it’s 80° here (only in LA) I’ve been caught up in the holiday madness this week. I thought I’d drop in to share some holiday traditions I’ve brought from home as well as some new ones I’m starting. As I’ve said before, I like to keep my cooking simple so I can enjoy the occasion, but I try to avoid completely relying on prepackaged food. Hopefully these recipes will also make you feel like you’re putting in a respectable effort without taking over your entire holiday vacation.

Our Christmas dinner: HoneyBaked Ham, Mac and Cheese with Bacon and Caramelized Onions, Onion Potatoes

Our Christmas dinner: HoneyBaked Ham, Mac and Cheese, Onion Potatoes

Old Traditions:

Nothing better for a warm Christmas day than an Eggnog Milkshake

Nothing better for a warm Christmas day than an Eggnog Milkshake

Eggnog Milkshake: The easiest holiday treat. Roughly equal parts eggnog and vanilla ice cream, adjust measurements and blend to your desired consistency. When in the south I generally rely on Purity Egg Nog and Blue Bell Homemade Vanilla ice cream. But since those brands are hard to come by out here, I’m working with Whole Foods eggnog and vanilla ice cream. It definitely tastes different, but is a fine substitute while on this coast.

Potatoes ready for the oven!

Potatoes ready for the oven!

Onion Potatoes: This is my go-to potato recipe for Thanksgiving and Christmas. Take two pounds of baby red potatoes and dice them into chunks (after washing, of course). Mix in a gallon Ziploc bag with ½ cup of olive oil and one packet of Lipton onion soup mix until potatoes are coated. Spread potatoes into a single layer and bake for 40 minutes at 450° stirring occasionally (I bake them in a large rectangular glass casserole dish).

New Traditions:

Bacon Cinnamon Rolls prepped for the oven

Bacon Cinnamon Rolls prepped for the oven

Bacon Cinnamon Rolls: Especially when it comes to holiday breakfast, the easier and more indulgent, the better. Take Pillsbury Grands Cinnamon Rolls and unroll them. Lay a piece of bacon inside, re-roll, and bake according to packaging. Tonight I’m putting these in the pan so that I can just pop them in the oven tomorrow morning!

Macaroni and Cheese with Bacon and Caramelized Onions

Macaroni and Cheese with Bacon and Caramelized Onions

Macarpni and Cheese with Bacon and Caramelized Onions: This may be the most complicated recipe this year, but it’s all relative. I’ve always relied on boxed mac and cheese, however, I’ve realized that those Velveeta Shells & Cheese don’t taste as good as I remember them when I was younger.

Hope y’all enjoy all of your own holiday traditions this year and good luck with any new ones!

2 thoughts on “80 Degrees of Christmas

  1. Pingback: Happiness: Part 3 | Honey for Bear

  2. Pingback: Making a Statement | Honey for Bear

Share Your Thoughts

