Smoothie Indulgence

In an effort to get more fruits and vegetables into my diet, I’ve been turning to smoothies frequently for breakfast or a light dinner. I’ve heard that you should chew your fruits and juice your veggies because blending fruit loses all the fiber. But I think that fruit in a smoothie is better than no fruit at all.

Easy ingredients for a delicious smoothie

Easy ingredients for a delicious smoothie

When I first started making smoothies I obsessively stuck to a recipe I found online for fear of a blender disaster or ending up with a gross tasting mess. I’ve gotten a little more adventurous and adapted some recipes of my own, sticking to a simple structure: equal parts liquid, Greek yogurt, and frozen fruit. To offset the tartness of the yogurt, I occasionally allow myself the tiniest pinch of sugar or honey, but it’s usually unnecessary. Here is my go-to smoothie when I’m feeling a little indulgent:

-1/2 cup Fage Greek yogurt

-1/2 cup organic blueberries and strawberries (here I used Target’s Simply Balanced brand but any berry blend will do)

-1/2 cup Silk Dark Chocolate Almondmilk

Blend the three ingredients until smooth and voilà! Also, I’ve gradually been adding spinach to my smoothies to up my veggie intake and it’s had little to no effect on the taste.

A berry delicious smoothie (pun!)

A berry delicious smoothie (pun!)

3 thoughts on “Smoothie Indulgence

  1. Pingback: Tropical Mornin’ To Ya | Honey for Bear

  2. Pingback: Green Smoothies and Kids | Green Smoothie Recipes

Share Your Thoughts

