Ice Cream Sundaes & Grizzly Bears

Most Los Angelenos avoid Hollywood and Highland like the plague. It’s crowded with hoards of tourists packing the sidewalks, distracted by chain stores and restaurants and costumed characters; it’s every local’s nightmare. I, on the other hand, look forward to visiting from time to time. It is definitely not where I want to spend every weekend, but it’s so easy to get caught up in my daily commute and routine errands that I sometimes forget I live in LA. The intersection of Hollywood and Highland is a striking reminder that I reside in one of the most vibrant and exciting cities in the world.

The beautiful old El Capitan

The beautiful old El Capitan Theatre

One of my favorite excuses to make the trek into the depths of Hollywood is to see a movie at The El Capitan Theatre. Since I love bears, I decided to go all out for Disneynature’s new film ‘Bears‘. The boy and I treated ourselves to VIP tickets which include popcorn, a beverage, and prime reserved seating in the theater.

Ghirardelli Brownie Sundae

Ghirardelli’s Brownie Sundae

We arrived a little early because when I treat myself, I go big (not to mention traffic at Hollywood and Highland is not for the faint of heart). Surprisingly enough given my love of all things sugar, I had never indulged at the ice cream parlor adjoined to the theater. And what better appetizer for popcorn than ice cream? The last time I was there it was Disney’s Soda Fountain, but recently it has transformed into the Ghirardelli Soda Fountain and Chocolate Shop. We shared a decadent brownie sundae with all the trimmings and will definitely make this a tradition for future El Capitan visits.

'Bears' at the El Capitan

‘Bears’ at the El Capitan

‘Bears’ was both funny and thrilling, while also providing an awe-inspiring look at Alaskan wildlife, nothing less than what you would expect from Disney. It is pretty amazing how a beautiful and engaging story arc emerges while following these animal families. The last Disneynature film I saw, ‘African Cats‘ was just as spectacular and I’m already excited about next year’s ‘Monkey Kingdom‘.

Share Your Thoughts

