Bangity Bangs

I’m very particular about my hair. I don’t have complicated or high maintenance hair, but I’m still protective of my locks. Despite living in LA for almost six years, I haven’t committed to a hair salon and instead get sporadic haircuts whenever I go home to Alabama. I asked my stylist to show me how to trim my bangs to keep my hair somewhat shapely between visits. As a girl, I have random features that drive me crazy, one of which is my forehead. Side swept bangs keep it covered and are easier to manage than the straight bangs I briefly sported in college. I got bangs nearly 10 years ago and I don’t think I’ll ever grow them out. Jennifer Aniston at the Along Came Polly premiere was my inspiration.

It may not be the "Rachel" but she sure does have great hair!

It may not be the “Rachel” but she sure does have great hair!

For whatever type of bangs you want, there are a few cardinal rules of bang trimming (please excuse the photos with poor bathroom lighting).

Bang Trimming 101:

1. Always trim hair while it is wet. Just do it.

2. When trimming your own hair, especially as a novice, it is better to go slow at first. You don’t want to end up hacking off a big chunk of hair right out of the gate.

3. Cut with scissors vertical, not horizontal. This keeps your bangs from looking blunt or severe (unless you’re going for that look).

Keep scissors vertical to avoid blunt bangs

Keep scissors vertical to avoid blunt bangs

I like my bangs chunky, however my hair isn’t thick. To make up for this I use these tricks for my side swept bangs:

1. Although the bangs are parted to the side, you need to trim in a semicircle, not diagonally. This way, when your bangs are pulled to the side they don’t bunch up by your ear.

2. For my look, the hair should be cut mid-nose/eye level, not at your brows. When styled they’ll have more volume and sit a little higher than they appear to when wet.

I use a large round brush to give my bangs a little bounce

I use a large round brush to give my bangs a little bounce

3. If you’re fighting your natural part, use a bobby pin to train your hair to stay to the side. Once you’ve dried your hair pin it to the side while warm and give it a blast with your hair dryer’s cool setting. Keep them pinned during the rest of your beauty routine or whenever lounging at home. Soon enough they’ll learn to stay out of the way!

The different may not seem drastic in photos but a little trim makes a world of difference

The difference may not seem drastic in photos, but a little trim can make you feel like a new person

Share Your Thoughts

