Dress Yourself in Neon Jorts

My bathing suit cover-ups fall into one of two categories. 1: Dress coverup for moms or 2: Redneck uniform of faded denim shorts and a tank. Both are perfectly fine, but I’m going to Vegas this weekend with some girlfriends and wanted something a little more suited to the occasion. And something that doesn’t say I’ve had children or I’ve chewed dip.

Dreary dated denim shorts before

Dreary dated denim shorts before

I decided it was time to get rid of the inexpensive, over-sized, light wash jorts I rely on for last-minute beach trips. My only past experience in dying clothes is two thrift store dresses for costumes and tie-dying t-shirts in middle school. This was a prime opportunity to take a risk, and given my past struggles with DIY projects, this one was actually a pleasant surprise.

All my supplies for this project

All my supplies for this project

In the past I’ve relied on Rit Dye, but at Jo-Anns Dylon caught my eye. Neon dyes are hard to come by and the “Intense Violet” seemed like the best option for the neon purple/magenta I was looking for. Since the shorts were already such a light wash, the only preparation necessary was taking a seam-ripper to the hem to make them cut-offs.

The most difficult part was hunching over this bucket stirring

The most difficult part was hunching over this bucket stirring

It was easy enough to follow the instructions on the packet. Mixing hot water, salt, and dye then agitating the shorts for 15 minutes and then intermittently for another 45. Even though I was just dying this one item, I used the whole packet to ensure I got the intense color.

Neon makes everything better

Neon makes everything better

After a couple runs in the washing machine to make sure I don’t end up with a purple butt this weekend, I did some trimming to the hem. Now I have a fun coverup for the poolside parties that await me!

Share Your Thoughts

