Spicy & Sweet Potato Fries

I have a serious problem with under-spicing my foods. I’m always worried I’ll overdo it and end up with bland creations that need salt once on my plate. My palate is very sensitive to spicy food, hence the cautious approach to seasoning. Tonight I’m following the recipe to a T and overcoming my fear of flavor.

sweetpotatofries_ingredients

An arsenal of seasoning for sweet potato fries

Just like avocados, I wasn’t introduced to sweet potato fries until I came out west. Previously my fry options had been regular or curly, but in LA sweet potato fries are a very common alternative. I really love french fries. The boy and I often make the sweet potato variation at home as a healthy alternative. It works out well because he likes his slightly burnt and I like mine a little mushy. Between the two of us we can divide them up and everyone gets their preference.

mix_sweetpotatoes

Hand-mixing is the only way

This recipe is a blend of two others I like (see here and here) that I’ve catered to suit my tastes.

  • 3 Sweet Potatoes
  • 1 tbsp of Macadamia Nut Oil (you can use Olive Oil or another of your choice)
  • 1 clove of Garlic (more or less depending on your taste)
  • Pinch of Cayenne Pepper
  • 12 tsp Paprika
  • 14 tsp Cumin
  • 14 tsp Black Pepper
  • 14 tsp Salt
  • 18 tsp Cinnamon
  • 18 tsp Ginger
  • 12 cup of Grated Parmesan
sweetpotatofries_intheoven

Glistening in the oven

  • Wash and cut potatoes into 13 inch thick slivers. Cooking time may vary depending on fry thickness.
  • Preheat oven to 450°. Mix oil and garlic and then evenly coat the fries.
  • Mix together remaining spices and toss fries in the mixture until covered.
  • Spread fries in a single layer on a baking sheet. I chose not to grease the pans since the fries are coated in oil.
  • Bake for 20 minutes, flip, and bake for an additional 20 minutes.
  • Sprinkle with Parmesan and enjoy with the dip of your choice! I use ranch to offset the zing.
Spicy and Sweet Potato Fries with Parmesan

Spicy and Sweet Potato Fries with Parmesan

One thought on “Spicy & Sweet Potato Fries

  1. Pingback: Sweet Beans & Rice | Honey for Bear

Share Your Thoughts

