Me vs. Santa Anas (Spoiler: I Win)

Moisturizing tools to battle desert winds

Moisturizing tools to battle desert winds

And like that, it was 90° again. One of the hardest parts of moving to SoCal from Alabama was the adjustment from humidity to dry desert air. My first few months in college I couldn’t wear makeup because my skin decided it was allergic to LA. Eventually, with large quantities of Benadryl and the right moisturizers, I was able to survive and thrive no matter how the Santa Ana winds blow.

  1. Cetaphil – This has long been my go-to moisturizer before bed and with SPF before my morning makeup routine. Fragrance free and gentle on sensitive skin, this keeps my face hydrated and protected all day.
  2. Pond’s Cold Cream Cleanser – When my skin is being especially finicky, I use Pond’s to remove my makeup instead of traditional liquid removers that always leave my face feeling oily. The more face washing you do, the more you dehydrate your skin so I embrace any opportunity to streamline my skin care regimen.
  3. L’Occitane Shea Butter Hand Cream – I avoid fragrances whenever possible in my beauty products and I love that this hand cream still has a clean scent. Plus I can moisturize my hands as often as necessary without having slippery, sticky hands.
  4. Chapstick Hydration Lock – I was lucky enough to come across this gem thanks to my first ever Birchbox. Every night I apply lip balm before I go to bed and every morning I wake-up with chapped lips. This is the only one that’s kept my lips soft through the night.

Obviously I find it essential to stay hydrated (with the help of the best water bottle ever), keep my humidifier filled, and moisturize as soon as I get out of the shower so I can lock in moisture before I dry off.

2 thoughts on “Me vs. Santa Anas (Spoiler: I Win)

  1. Pingback: Chapped Lips – Causes, Symptoms and Treatment | Natural Health Information

Share Your Thoughts

