Happiness: Media Edition

I promise this isn’t a shameless self-promotional post. Like many, I have a serious love/hate relationship with the internet and social networking. The web is truly an amazing, scary, fascinating, dangerous, useful, and fun resource. As with many enjoyable but risky things, I think it is all about moderation and understanding the tool in order to maximize the benefits and avoid potential pitfalls. Would I like to eat Godiva every day? Yes. Would it kill me? Probably yes. Moderation is key.

HTML Map

This installment of Happiness

1. This blog: To be honest, I didn’t think I would get as into “blogging” as I have since I could never keep a journal or a diary going for more than a few weeks. But I find myself getting really excited when I come up with something new I want to share. I’m even looking into taking a photography class since my only prior training was with film or a web design course so I can customize my site. Even if followers and comments aren’t pouring in at a staggering rate, I get joy from knowing that someone might come across a post that they find helpful or inspiring.

2. Twitter: The first thing I do in the morning is check Twitter. It’s how I see what is happening in the world before I’m even out of bed and I’m always the first to know breaking news. I prefer Twitter to keep up with brands and bloggers without getting my Facebook news feed clogged up. With the smartphone app, Twitter holds my place on my timeline so I never miss anything and can quickly scroll through updates.

3. Pinterest: Remember cutting things out of magazines and creating inspiration boards or pasting them in a notebook? Yeah, welcome to the 21st century. Pinterest is how I catalog crafts I want to make, clothes I want to buy, and anything else I want to save for future reference. I used to have numerous documents on my computer with lists of URLs to recipes and beauty tutorials, but Pinterest is so much better.

2 thoughts on “Happiness: Media Edition

  1. Pingback: To Do List: Part 6 | Honey for Bear

Share Your Thoughts

