To Do List: Part 6

As a serial article reader I’ve noticed an ongoing discussion on “the busy trap” and our exponentially increasing busyness. Reading about the universal humble-brag of “I’m too busy” made me embarrassed to realize I’m part of the problem. I’m always rushing, tired, and stressed about the coming day. It’s part of American culture, particularly corporate culture, and since we’re all doing it you risk looking lazy if you try to escape the cycle.

See, I'm way too busy...

See, I’m way too busy…

1. Be a better blogger: As mentioned, this blog makes me happy. It’s actually stressing me out that I have tons of post ideas and there are various obstacles delaying them. This is something I’m doing for me, so I actually need to do it and make it a priority. After all, TREAT YO’ SELF.

2. Try to say “yes”: Post-college life has largely turned me into a homebody. I’m perfectly content spending evenings and weekends cleaning out my DVR, going to a movie, running errands, and doing chores. Occasionally I’ll turn down plans because I’m too tired (or anticipate being tired) or because the thought of sitting in LA traffic any longer than necessary sounds insufferable. However, I’ve found it’s true that you regret the things you didn’t do more than those you did.

3. Learn to say “no”: The word “no” takes on new weight in the professional world. I’m coming up on my two year anniversary at my job and it’s fascinating to see how much I’ve changed as a person and within my position. I still have room for growth especially when it comes to speaking up. It’s okay and often necessary to say “no” when I don’t have the bandwidth for a request or have a different idea for how to complete a task. My entire life I was taught to respond “yes/no, ma’am/sir” and it’s been hard for me to realize I’m no longer a child showing respect, I’m now a peer who is respected.

One thought on “To Do List: Part 6

  1. Pingback: Danish Days Daze | Honey for Bear

Share Your Thoughts

