White Lines

Throughout the years leading up to college I randomly collected bits and pieces of makeup here and there, but rarely used any. I don’t have sisters and my mom wears little makeup. Although I was interested in the concept of makeup, I never learned the tricks of the trade. For a while, a white eyeliner pencil sat idle amongst the various liners I used for special occasions. It wasn’t until college when I saw a friend swipe white eyeliner across her brow bone that I realized how useful it could be in my makeup routine. If you’re not quite as fair as I am you can opt for a flesh tone instead of stark white.

1. Brighten eyes

Before & after with tactfully placed white eyeliner

Before & after with tactfully placed white eyeliner

To highlight your eyes mark an X in the middle of your eyelid, a dab at your tear ducts, and dotted line on your brow-bone. Blend and apply liner and shadow as usual, or not if you’re going au natural. If you’re confident in your skills you can also do your lower lid waterline. Remember to sharpen your pencils regularly to keep them clean.

The 4 key places for white eyeliner

The 4 key places for white eyeliner

2. Shadow that stays (and POPS)

The left with eyeliner base & right without

The left with eyeliner base & right without

For day-to-day I use a neutral champagne palate eyeshadow. However, I have this beautiful turquoise shadow that I love but whenever applied it disappears onto my eyelid. By using white eyeliner as a lid primer the color actually shows up and stays in place. Use soft strokes across your eyelid with liner then dab and blend the shadow. You can also line your lower lashes and cover with shadow for a full eye of color.

3. Plump your lips

I have fairly thin lips so I'll take any illusion I can get

I have fairly thin lips so I’ll take any illusion I can get

Usually I apply lip balm (and gloss if I’m feeling fancy) in the car during my morning commute. When I do take the time to create a full lip, white eyeliner can be a helpful tool for those of us with a pout deficiency. Similar to your eyelid, highlight the center portion of your upper and lower lip. If it helps you can start by drawing an X in the bow of your lips and filling it in and out. Softly blend and fill the rest of your lips with a natural color liner. Cover with gloss or sheer lipstick.

Lip lining pre-blending

Lip lining pre-blending

Share Your Thoughts

