West Coasters

Having creative control of my apartment has been as stressful as it is fun. Unlike with roommates where I feared overstepping my decor boundaries, the boy trusts my judgement and we don’t have trouble making design decisions. However, even something as small as finding the right coasters has been an ongoing process in my pursuit to create the perfect home. I was surprised at how expensive coasters are considering all they do is keep condensation off my coffee table–but the reasonably priced one’s are so drab. Luckily, I saw this DIY and Martha, domestic goddess that she is, showed me the perfect alternative.

Simple coaster supplies

Simple coaster supplies

Originally, I purchased a large sheet of cork that I was going to cut into coasters. When I opened the packaging I realized the sheet was very thin and trying to cut matching, round circles would be the most difficult part of the process. Instead I went to Bed, Bath & Beyond (gotta love those 20% off coupons!) and bought a pack of cork coasters. I ended up using the sponge brush for both the Mod Podge and paint. Also the masking tape stuck to the cork better than the painter’s tape. Looking through my collection of Martha’s craft paint (in satin) I pulled Carrot, Pollen, Indigo, and Habañero that matched my living room’s color palette well.

You can see my lovely failed attempt at polka dots

You can see my failed attempt at polka dots on the right

Given my history of DIY mishaps, it should come as no surprise that there were a few adjustments made along the way. After a coat of Mod Podge on each coaster I planned on doing pairs of thin stripes, thick stripes, polka dots, and our initials. The stripes were smooth sailing but the polka dots got out of hand really quickly. I realized that if I couldn’t manage stamping dots, stenciling letters was way out of my league. Instead I did two more sets of stripe variations and I’m very happy with the results. I only had to do one coat of paint but I did top them with another layer of Mod Podge just to be safe. It dries quickly so I didn’t have to wait too long between coats.

diy_painted_coasters

Lovely painted coasters for my kitten to chew on & occasionally for drinks

 

2 thoughts on “West Coasters

  1. Pingback: I Don’t Like Them Apples… | Honey for Bear

Share Your Thoughts

