Country Breakfast in a Bowl

Even though breakfast is my favorite meal of the day, I rarely make it. Many of the best breakfast foods create a lot of dirty dishes, need a lot of prep time, or require ingredients I don’t often have on hand. I wanted to make the boy and I an indulgent weekend brunch and I had just enough in the kitchen to make these breakfast bowls.

A flavorful breakfast bowl

A flavorful breakfast bowl

I prepared half a cup of grits according to the package instructions, plus a pat or two of butter. While the grits cooked, I browned a pound of Jimmy Dean hot sausage I had intended to make cheese and sausage balls with a few weeks ago. Once both were ready, I sprinkled the sausage over the grits and topped it with grated Parmesan cheese. Cheddar would also have paired well. Since the sausage has a kick and the grits have salt I didn’t find that they needed any additional flavoring.

breakfast-bowl

Creamy grits & hot sausage make the perfect breakfast

2 thoughts on “Country Breakfast in a Bowl

Share Your Thoughts

