Girls Love Curls

I’ve always appreciated the irony that girls with straight hair curl it and girls with curly hair straighten it for special occasions. Every high school dance was like a switcheroo of hair textures. As a southern girl, I knew how to put curlers in my hair before I learned to ride a bike. Granted, I didn’t learn to ride a bike until college, but that’s another story. Since I was raised on hot rollers, curling irons always seemed time-consuming and ineffective by comparison. However, since converting an old clamp iron into a curling wand, I can now create a head full of curls quick enough that I don’t need to reserve it for special events.

I exhausted my clip reserve so I could get the most curls

I exhausted my clip reserve so I could get maximum curls

When curling wands gained popularity I wanted one but didn’t want to invest in another hair tool. Thanks to Pinterest, I found how to make a curling iron into a curling wand by removing a few screws. I wash my hair every other day and have found it holds a curl better on unwashed days. After dry shampoo, I spray all over with a heat protector and brush through. I’m now addicted to this one I discovered through Birchbox, mainly because it smells so good. I then divide my hair into sections; smaller sections make tighter curls.

Watch your fingertips & ears!

Watch your fingertips & ears!

1. Start in the center at the base of your neck. Spray each section with hairspray and brush it before you curl. Southern girls know there is no such thing as too much hairspray, so I always curl before dressing or doing makeup then wipe stray hairspray off my arms and face. After you’ve completed a few pieces in one section, give the area another shot of hairspray.

The size of your curler & the thickness of your sections will affect the look

The size of your curler & the thickness of your sections will affect the outcome

2. Hold the curling rod vertically pointing down, wrap the hair away from your face (clockwise on your right side, counterclockwise on your left), and hold for 10 to 15 seconds.

After curling it can look stiff & unnatural

After curling it can look stiff & unnatural

3. Once you’ve finished, spritz hairspray all over. Lightly run your fingers through your hair or whip it back and forth (thanks Willow) to separate. Then give your head one last mist of hairspray.

After a little movement it looks much better

After a little movement it looks more natural

3 thoughts on “Girls Love Curls

  1. Pingback: Getting Glam | Honey for Bear

  2. Pingback: Product of the day: Wellaflex Hair Spray by Wella | One Happy Blog

Share Your Thoughts

