OMG WTF BBQ

After visiting two different LA barbecue spots back to back, I couldn’t help but notice the stark differences in ambiance even though they were both trying to appear like authentic BBQ joints. Let me explain.

Bludso's Bar-&-Que

Bludso’s Bar-&-Que

Bludso’s has a very straightforward menu and a limited amount of meat prepared each day. The decor is fairly minimalist but the bar is more swanky than your average BBQ place.

Brisket, pulled pork, mac & cheese & cornbread

Brisket, pulled pork, mac & cheese & cornbread

The brisket and cornbread were really good. I’d be interested to go back and try a drink at their fancy bar since we visited too early in the day for a cocktail. However, for a BBQ restaurant it felt too clean and LA chic. Not somewhere you want to go stuff your face with meat and have sauce dripping from your fingers.

Bludso's banana pudding

Bludso’s banana pudding

I like to try banana pudding anywhere I go, but this version was too fluffy, not creamy. The boy and I agreed it didn’t even taste very banana-y.

Baby Blues in West Hollywood

Baby Blues BBQ in West Hollywood

Baby Blues better suits my taste. The vibe is more sports bar than LA hotspot. With mismatched tables and chairs and specials like moonshine sangria, it’s way more up my alley.

Baby back ribs, tri-tip, chopped brisket & smoked chicken

Baby back ribs, tri-tip, chopped brisket & smoked chicken

I will say that I prefer the cornbread at Bludso’s, but Baby Blues has much better mac and cheese. At Baby Blues we always ask for honey butter for our cornbread – yum! They have a big menu we’re still slowly making our way through.

Vinegar & sauces

Vinegar & sauces

When it comes to sauces I reach for the sweet and BBQ. Even though the food is plenty filling, we always save room for banana pudding. It’s one of my favorites in the entire city. Yup, Baby Blues is definitely my cup of tea.

Baby Blues' banana pudding

Baby Blues’ banana pudding

Share Your Thoughts

