Independent Burrito

As with avocados, I had never eaten at a Chipotle until I moved to LA. Like many before me, I immediately became addicted to the chicken burrito bowl: white rice, black beans, lettuce, cheese, sour cream, and guacamole. And no, I don’t mind that guac is extra. Chipotle turned into my special occasion fast food; a little pricier than my usual and impossible to finish the entire thing. After spending my college years as a Chipotle disciple, I noticed a change. First, I found a large piece of avocado skin in my guacamole. Since it happened at a different site than I regularly visited, I let it slide. A while later, I noticed that the guac tasted different. It was creamier and less flavorful. When I asked if the recipe had changed they said no, but I’ve eaten enough Chipotle to know when something’s off. I started ordering kid’s meals because they’re cheaper and more reasonable portion sizes. When I ordered the taco kit I requested cheese on my tacos and they said it’d be extra since it’s considered an additional side. In what world is cheese for tacos a side??? More recently, my co-workers and I have noticed they’ve started skimping on portions, even of inexpensive ingredients. If I’m shelling out $10 for a burrito bowl (not including chips or a drink) I better not be able to see the bottom of the bowl through all the rice and beans.

I'm no longer Chipotle dependent

I’m free of my Chipotle dependency

Pardon my French, but Chipotle has earned a spot on my shit list with their downsized serving sizes, sub-par guac, and insane definition of what qualifies as a side. I’m taking matters into my own hands. With frozen chicken breasts, microwavable rice, and canned organic black beans I can easily cook it myself. Using the Chipotle ingredients and my taste-buds as a guide, I determined the measurements and serving sizes as I went along.

Chipotle lunch for two?

Chipotle lunch for two

  • Season chicken breasts with chipotle chili pepper, cumin, salt, and pepper. Cook in a skillet coated with olive oil. Once cooked through (no pink inside) dice into bite-sized cubes.
  • Simmer black beans on the stove with onions, garlic, oregano, and chipotle chili pepper.
  • Mix cooked extra long grain rice with cilantro and fresh lemon and lime.
  • Grate aged white cheddar and jack cheese.
  • Make the guac any way you like, for this iteration I used avocados, diced red onions, cayenne pepper, cilantro, lemon, lime, salt, and minced garlic.
Sometimes you just need to dig in

Sometimes you just need to dig in

I topped mine with sour cream and used tortilla chips for scooping when I got tired of using a fork. It’s a great meal to cook for the boy and I or to keep leftovers and make two or three meals of it.

One thought on “Independent Burrito

  1. Pingback: Sweet Beans & Rice | Honey for Bear

Share Your Thoughts

