Sunshine & Wine

A few weeks ago, I went to the Santa Ynez Valley for a wine-tasting birthday trip. I’m not much of a wine drinker so I was eager to expand my palate and find something that suits my taste. The wine I drank in college was usually Sutter Home Moscato, which has just enough alcohol content to distinguish it from apple juice. When I do feel the urge to appear grownup and order wine I generally ask the waiter for whatever is fruity and sweet, as I do when ordering a cocktail.

A view from Firestone

A view from Firestone

Our first stop was Firestone Vineyards where the birthday girl’s mother has a membership, which gave us access to their lounge. Our server was very sweet and they have a beautiful view from the main tasting room.

The coonskin cap engraved glass

The coonskin cap engraved glass

We also visited Fess Parker Winery and Vineyard, founded by the 1950’s actor known for his roles as Davy Crockett and Daniel Boone. The winery is unique with frontier style decor and souvenirs.

Fess Parker's vineyard

Fess Parker’s vineyard

Ultimately I learned Riesling will be my wine of choice when I’m feeling fancy. Even if I haven’t yet developed a love of wine, I thoroughly enjoyed the experience in the enchanting collection of vineyards.

One thought on “Sunshine & Wine

  1. Pingback: Happiness: Part 8 | Honey for Bear

Share Your Thoughts

