5 Day Weekend Photos

I love my mom and I get to see her so seldom I make the most of our visits. For the five days she was here I made an itinerary to do some of our favorite things. We both love shopping, TV, and eating, which makes planning activities fairly easy. While out and about I was only able to capture our adventures on my phone.

Spent the morning @ Big Daddy's Antiques, it's so cool!! #losangeles #antiquing #shopping

A post shared by meg (@margelizmann) on

As a former interior designer, my mom enjoys exploring places that have unique home decor items. She read about Big Daddy’s Antiques in a magazine and they have some amazing old pieces. Also, for some reason, a lot of live birds in large ornate antique cages. I also took her to the Melrose Trading Post, despite the freak rain that hit LA on Sunday.

The massive Last Bookstore

The massive and beautiful Last Bookstore

My mom is a huge bookworm so I took her downtown to The Last Bookstore to wander the aisles and admire the old building.

#latergram dinner @PumpRestaurant last night #weho #rhobh #yum

A post shared by meg (@margelizmann) on

We’re also both TV addicts, but her guilty pleasure might be worse than any of mine. Her favorite member of Real Housewives is restaurateur Lisa Vanderpump and each time she comes to LA we try a different Vanderpump-owned restaurant. We’ve hit Villa Blanca and SUR leaving PUMP in West Hollywood.

@anthropologie has the best store decor #shopping #style #design

A post shared by meg (@margelizmann) on

Anthropologie is one of my favorite stores not only because the adorable clothes but the stores have the best decor. No matter the location, I’m always impressed by the interior design and wish I could move in.

Combining two of our passions (fashion and film) we visited the Hollywood Costume exhibit at the Academy Museum of Motion Pictures. It was an extremely comprehensive collection, but unfortunately no photos allowed.

Taking my mom to see the sights! #architecture #franklloydwright #losangeles

A post shared by meg (@margelizmann) on

Recently, the Hollyhock House designed by Frank Lloyd Wright re-opened to the public. My mom has visited a number of his houses across the country so we took the opportunity to add this one to her list. I’ve picnicked at the park several times before and never realized the architectural landmark in my midst. We finished the trip with a movie at the Laemmle Theater, which is a short walk from my apartment. Indie movies don’t always find their way to theaters in Huntsville making it a special and low-key outing after an eventful weekend.

2 thoughts on “5 Day Weekend Photos

  1. Pingback: Happiness: Part 9 | Honey for Bear

  2. Pingback: The Great Wall | Honey for Bear

Share Your Thoughts

