Swaggy Shades

I inherited an addiction to free swag from my dad. He couldn’t come back from a work conference or business trip without a hoard of pens, koozies, T-shirts, notepads, bags, and anything else you can slap a logo on. At USC’s senior sendoff, they gave away plastic wayfarer style sunglasses. Although I like the look, I thought I could make them more wearable by hiding the logo. Even though I try to avoid glitter crafts like the plague, it seemed like the obvious solution.

Easy supplies you probably already have in your craft box

Easy supplies you probably already have in your craft box

After I came up with my brilliant glitter solution, I stumbled across this tutorial that confirmed my hunch. They were a little more difficult than I anticipated, but I think I got the hang of it if I decide to do it again. Please learn from my mistakes!

  • Tape off the section you want glittered. Since I was just doing part of the arms I left the lenses vulnerable and getting stray glitter off them was a pain. I recommend taping a tissue or something around them to keep them clean. Also, do two layers of tape, I’ll explain why later.
  • Mod Podge the area to glitter. You can also mix glitter and Mod Podge, but I went with this method instead.
  • Sprinkle glitter over the wet Mod Podge. Remove the top layer of tape while it is still wet and let the glitter dry completely.
  • Seal with Mod Podge. If the glitter isn’t dry you will smear it all off. While the top coat is still wet, remove the second layer of tape. I made the mistake of doing one layer of tape and removing it at the end, which pulled off a chunk of the glitter, ruining the clean line.
The finished product on a sunny day

The finished product on a sunny day

Share Your Thoughts